15 October, 2021


Public Speakers meet our Premier

And what an experience it was! Accompanied by their parents, Charlotte Ball (Year 9) and Dean Power (Year 12) represented our College at the Statewide Youth Speakout event at both Government House and Parliament House on Tuesday 12 October and presented their speeches on subjects that mattered to them. It was an action-packed day with opportunities to meet political leaders including our premier, The Honourable Peter Gutwein MP.  All student presentations were formally recognised by our Governor, Her Excellency the Honourable Barbara Baker AC. We congratulate two of our accomplished public speakers for their initiative in entering the event and their noteworthy participation.

Katie Lester
Person-in-Charge of Public Speaking

Performance Exam Audience

It’s that time of year again, where the TCE Drama/Theatre Performance students showcase the amazing performance skills they have developed and impress the TASC Examiners in their Practical Exam. I warmly welcome the Scotch Oakburn College community to be an audience member and support these talented students in one or all of the following shows:

Theatre Performance Play Exam (Horton):
‘A Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time’ a play adapted by Simon Stephens from the popular novel by Mark Haddon.
Tuesday 19 October 7 – 8.15pm (Show 1)
Wednesday 20 October 7 – 8.15pm (Exam Show 2)

Drama Exam (Drama Studio):
Extracts from David Williamson’s ‘Brilliant Lies’ and Kieron Barry’s ‘Numbers’
Tuesday 19 October 6-7pm (Show 1)
Thursday 21 October 2-3pm (Exam Show 2)

Theatre Performance Monologue Exam (Drama Studio):
Thursday 21 Oct 5 – 5.30pm (Show 1)
Friday 22 Oct 2 – 2.30pm (Exam Show 2)

Please email me at to confirm the performances you wish to attend. There is no cost involved but there are limited numbers for the shows in the Drama Studio.

I look forward to welcoming you.

Kathryn Gray

Student Achievement

Xavier Nesbitt (Year 9) has been awarded a 2020/2021 Young Leadership Award by Swimming Tasmania, winning the Bill and Shea Henderson Trophy. Xavier was nominated for his composure and commitment to the sport of swimming through training, competition and club support. Xavier was commended for being a fierce competitor but for taking both success and failure in his stride. Xavier is considered a leader in his club, showing great maturity and focus by assisting coaches and helping junior swimmers develop their skills. Swimmers were nominated by their coaches and then the Swimming TAS board chose who they thought was worthy. Congratulations Xavier.

Stuart Walls
Head of Senior School

Hockey season ends

On Wednesday 13 October, the Launceston Golf Club was the pleasant venue for this year’s Annual Hockey Dinner and Trophy Presentation Evening.  Sixty parents, players and coaches attended the event which celebrated the College’s 116th Hockey season.  Trophies were presented to:

First Girls XI

Best & Fairest Player: Alice McLauchlan
Most Improved Player Award: Maddie Fenner
Coach’s Award: Kate Sherriff

First Boys XI

Best and Fairest Player: Carl Els
Coach’s Award: Alfie Neville-Clark
Most Versatile Player Award: Connor O’Sign
Distinguished Service Award: Theo Wolfhagen

Certificates were presented to Will Gray, Top Goal Scorer, and Alexander Creak, Certificate of Appreciation.

Thanks were expressed to our Captains of Hockey, Alice McLauchlan and Carl Els, and to all parents for their marvellous support of Hockey this season.  Thanks were also extended to all our hockey coaches and managers for the 2021 season, without whom we would not operate: Mr Simon Dray, Mr Rory Kruijswijk-Walsh, Mrs Alison McLean, Mr Richard Nichols, the Revd Grace Reynolds, Mr Daniel van der Aa, Mrs Karen van der Aa, Mr Simon van der Aa, Mr Brendan Vince, and Head of Sport Mr Alister Foot.

David Morris
Person-in-Charge of Hockey

Related articles