The Scotch Oakburn Board of Governance, with its Facilities and Infrastructure Committee, spent over two years planning and constructing Helix, our Centre for Science and Mathematics and home for Years 9 and 10, on the Penquite Campus.

This latest development continues the prudent investment by the College over the past decade to ensure it can provide contemporary learning spaces to compliment our C21 Teaching and Learning.

Junior School has undergone a major revamp, with old classrooms turned into new learning spaces, the addition of Connexions and the Health and Physical Education Centre, plus the acquisition of the magnificent Claremont Gardens.

Our exception Middle School was purposed designed and built and the Healthy and Physical Education Centre and the underpass, connecting the Middle and Senior Schools, were also key additions.

The Robert Dean Senior Student Centre is a state-of-the-art 
learning environment for our Years 11 and 12, and the totally revamped John Morris Centre was opened in September 2015.

But the reality is that the aspiration to be one of Australia’s leading school is a quest that never truly ends. Others keep raising the bar and learning evolves. For us not to continue to invest in our facilities would be a failure to provide the best for our students of today, and tomorrow.

Right now we know that Science and Mathematics have been more important. But the “temporary Maths room” from 1971 prevailed and the Science labs from yesteryear were well and truly outdated.

In addition, our Years 9 and 10 required a home that is the equal of all others in the College – be they Early Learning, Junior School, Middle School, or Years 11 and 12.

The College Board made  the decision to invest in this project because they are committed to ensuring Scotch Oakburn College is a centre of excellence, innovation and opportunity. The College’s insistence on continued improvement allows our students to excel and provides teachers with an environment where they want to be, above all others.

Sally Darke
Chair – Scotch Oakburn College Board of Governance