10 March, 2023


On Saturday 4 March the Theatre Council of Tasmania held the 2023 Tasmanian Theatre Awards were held at the Wrest Point Casino in Hobart. The awards celebrate excellence and achievement in theatre throughout Tasmania, with over thirty awards offered across three categories of Professional Theatre, Community Theatre and Musical Theatre.

Members of the Scotch Oakburn College community were recognised for their exceptional work by the judging panel in the Community Theatre and Musical Theatre categories.

Eva Cetti (Year 8) was presented with the Youth Achievement Community Theatre award for her role in Let The Right One In. Alex Musk (Year 8) was also nominated for this award.

Launceston theatre company IO Productions was founded by College staff Katie Hill (Performing Arts Centre Technician), Chris Jackson (Assistant Performing Arts Centre Technician) and Chris’s wife Grace Roberts. They received 27 nominations and won 10 awards throughout the evening.  Awards were won for Best Production Community Theatre, Best Male Leading Performance Community Theatre, Best Female Leading Performance Community Theatre, Best Ensemble Community Theatre, Best Direction Community Theatre, Best Original Set Design Community Theatre, Best Lighting or Video/Film Design Community Theatre, Best Sound Design Community Theatre, and Youth Achievement Community Theatre. Some nominations were received in collaboration with current parent Renee Bakker’s Bakker Productions.

The cast of BLANK, featuring Katie Hill, won the award in Best Ensemble Community Theatre. Chris Jackson won the awards for Best Original Set Design Community Theatre and Best Sound Design Community Theatre.

Scotch Oakburn College had strong representation in the awards Musical Theatre category as members of the cast, orchestra and creative of Encore’s production of Chicago. Chicago won the award for Best Ensemble Musical Theatre, which included cast members Chloe Edwards (‘19), Luka Cameron (Year 12), Megan Fettke (staff), and Sam Hammersley (former Music Tutor).

Sian Parry (Music Teacher) and Michael Stocks (Music Tutor) won the award for Best Musical Direction Musical Theatre. Sian was the Vocal Director for Chicago and Michael conducted the orchestra which included Fiona Bye (Music Teacher), Karen Dennis (former Music Tutor), Natalie Hiller (former Music Tutor), Peter Waddle (former Music Tutor) & Sian Parry.

Sian Parry and Andy Prideaux were nominated for the Best Musical Direction Musical Theatre Nominated for Encore’s production of Jersey Boys.

Congratulations to the members of the College community who won awards or received nominations for the 2023 Tasmanian Theatre Awards.

Stephen King
Head of Performing Arts