The role of the Board is to provide sound governance for the College. Each member of the Board of Directors is appointed by the members of Scotch Oakburn College Inc. and is bound by a constitution and charter, both of which are regularly updated and amended to suit evolving conditions.

The most important function of the Board is the appointment of the Principal, who is responsible for the staff and students, programs and activities of the College. The Principal is guided by the Scotch Oakburn Strategic Plan, policies and initiatives developed in conjunction with the Board of Directors. The policies administered by the board can be found on our College policies page. Other important functions of the Board include oversight of finances and risk management, and the development of facilities, buildings and grounds.

L-R: Rohan Pryor, Rebecca Cuthill, Andrew Gray, Calton Frame, Geoff Duggan, Simon Foster, Kate Croft, Andy Müller, Fred Lester. Inset: David Finnigan, Selena Palmer, Karen van der Aa.

The Scotch Oakburn Board is skills based. Collectively, the members of the Board apply a balanced perspective and a wealth of experience to Board discussions and decisions. The Board ensures that the interests of all College stakeholders are considered in the decision-making process.

The Principal, in consultation with the Board, appoints the Business Manager who also has the role of Secretary to the Board. The Business Manager’s responsibilities are extensive, forming an important link between Board Committees, the Principal, the Chair of the Board and wider College groups.

Any large organisation embracing so many committees and subgroups needs clear guidelines for good and orderly communication. The point of contact between the College and Board is through the Principal and the Chair of the Board. Their working relationship is necessarily close, trusting, regular and, where necessary, confidential.

Chairperson: Andrew Gray
Deputy Chairperson: David Finnigan

Other Board members (in alphabetical order):

Rebecca Cuthill
Geoff Duggan
Simon Foster
Calton Frame
Fred Lester
Andy Müller
Selena Palmer
Rohan Pryor
Karen van der Aa

The Deputy Principal/Head of Senior School, Kate Croft, attends all Board meetings.

Secretary to the Board: Calton Frame
T: 6336 3360